Postseason Summary: 1967 State Champions
The LC Tigers had to wait a week after the conclusion of their 9 game season to learn the outcome of the State Championship. Several teams on the west side of the state played 10 game seasons, which necessitated the wait. The wait was worth it, however, as the LC Tigers increased their lead in the state polling and were awarded with the State Championship title. It was only the 2nd time in Lewis and Clark’s history that this occurred, the previous in 1955. LC players were awarded All-City, All-State, and All-American honors, while innumerable City League records were broken. Many LC players also went on to play at the following notable colleges and universities:
# 11 Bill Etter, LC Quarterback – Notre Dame
# 29 Bob Minnix, LC Halfback – Notre Dame
# 24 Jim Ivory, LC Halfback – University of Oregon
# 87 Bruce Johnson, LC End – University of Oregon
# 88 Bob Leslie, LC End – Washington State University
# 75 Bill Bagby, LC Tackle – University of Puget Sound
# 68 Pat Saad, LC Tackle – Whitworth
# 62 Jim Pearson, LC Guard – University of Washington (Baseball)

*Note 1: Forty Years Later (2007)
The LC Tigers football team won the 2007 State Championship, becoming only the 3rd team in LC football history to earn this honor:
– 1955 (7-1)
– 1967 (9-0)
– 2007 (11-2)

*Note 2: Undefeated Teams
As of this writing, 10/4/23, in the history of Lewis and Clark High School football, there have been three (3) undefeated teams:
– 1922 produced the 1st undefeated team in LC Tigers football history (5 game season)
– 1947 produced the 2nd undefeated team in LC Tigers football history (6 game season)
– 1967 produced the 3rd undefeated team in LC Tigers football history (9 game season)
– We are waiting patiently for the next LC team that will achieve this level of play: a State Championship and an undefeated season. Go Tigers.